Latest topics
» Newbie Questions
Yesterday at 8:05 pm by Zippee

» First game of Baroque
Yesterday at 5:35 pm by parrskool

» Can you shoot through artillary?
Tue Apr 24, 2018 7:13 pm by Zippee

» Impetuous Mounted Troops and Fortifications
Tue Apr 24, 2018 3:07 am by Gaius Cassius

» Cost of Scotts MAA downgraded to pike
Sun Apr 22, 2018 9:10 am by Geoffrm

» Ignoring Artillery
Thu Apr 19, 2018 9:55 pm by Aurelius

» BI2 tournament - 12 May 2018 - CANCELLED
Thu Apr 19, 2018 11:07 am by Aurelius

» Anyone make custom mats?
Wed Apr 18, 2018 5:15 pm by shakespear

» Retreat After Loosing a Melee
Sat Apr 14, 2018 10:34 pm by Gaius Cassius

BI2 tournament - 12 May 2018 - CANCELLED

Tue Jan 23, 2018 10:26 am by RogerC

EDIT I am very sorry, but I’ve had to CANCEL this tournament. I’ve …

Comments: 8

Vapnartak. Sunday 4th February 2018 Knavesmere Stand York Racecourse

Thu Jan 04, 2018 7:54 am by Cyrus The Adequate

Hi Gents

York is the usual first event in the UK Impetus calendar. This year …

Comments: 28

Basic Impetus 2 Comp, January 2018?

Mon Oct 30, 2017 10:03 am by Aurelius

I've brought the confirmed details for the Basic Impetus competition to the …

Comments: 32

Vapnartak York Feb 2018- format options?

Wed Oct 18, 2017 8:26 am by Cyrus The Adequate

Hi everyone

I was pondering the options for the York competition and wondered …

Comments: 11

Impetus Competition Derby Worlds 2017

Sun Jul 02, 2017 4:42 pm by Cyrus The Adequate

There will be a 28mm Impetus Competition at Derby World Wargames on 7th …

Comments: 47

Impetus at Derby?

Thu Apr 27, 2017 9:29 am by Cyrus The Adequate

Anyone interested ? 7th & 8th October at a new venue - Bruntingthorpe …

Comments: 11

April 2018
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
      1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30      

Calendar Calendar


Retreat After Loosing a Melee

Go down

Retreat After Loosing a Melee

Post by T13A on Thu Apr 12, 2018 8:28 am

Hi

In a game last night a unit had to retreat after loosing a melee, however, there was an enemy unit 1U away immediately behind the unit that had to retreat.

On checking the rules they seemed to be a bit ambiguous (at least to us) as to what happens to the retreating unit. The only relevant bit we could find (and we checked Advanced Impetus as well) said, "If the retreating unit cannot even start due to a friendly or enemy Unit that is blocking the path then the Unit is destroyed" (page 39, 7.6.2 Loss of Melee and Retreat of the defeated Unit).

The "even start" is the bit confusing us. There was nothing that we could find to say what happens to a retreating unit that cannot complete its full retreat move due to an enemy unit being in the way.

We would be very grateful for some clarification and some pointer to what it says in the rules (and where) if we have missed something.

Many thanks, Paul

T13A
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 27
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2016-01-08

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Retreat After Loosing a Melee

Post by Zippee on Fri Apr 13, 2018 11:32 am

The unit that lost the melee retreats until it contacts the blocking enemy. If it was elephants the enemy unit would take hits and DIS, otherwise the retreat stops with the enemy in contact. That's it - until it or the enemy units activate again or unless the victorious unit pursues into contact, in which case it's all looking pretty grim.

Remember your retreating unit is no longer fresh, is DIS (and in contact* so can't Rally), has enemy in contact so can't manoeuvre, and that enemy is in contact* with its rear face so it takes huge penalties in the next melee and will likely lose and not be able to "even start a retreat". this is NOT a good place to be.

Only if the unit "cannot even start a retreat" is it destroyed - this would require enemy in contact with front and rear edges essentially. So is the penalty for being surrounded in essence. You might achieve this by charging into contact with it or by forcing it to retreat into contact or by pursuing a unit that has had its retreat blocked.

Essentially it just means that the losing unit is in a very bad position, all is not entirely lost if not actually engaged front and rear but its chances of survival are slim, it just takes a turn longer - which might be vital if you can win the game elsewhere.

*Note I'm assuming here that it contacts the front face of an enemy unit - if it is blocked by the rear or flank then things are a bit easier but if the victorious unit pursues into contact or charges it next turn then it will be destroyed if it loses as it still "can't even start a retreat".

hope that makes sense of it - I think you actually understand the rule. you're just looking for a penalty to apply for failing to complete a retreat - that penalty doesn't exist.
avatar
Zippee
VBU 5
VBU 5

Posts : 592
Reputation : 12
Join date : 2014-05-19
Age : 54
Location : London, UK

View user profile https://www.flickr.com/photos/zippee/sets/

Back to top Go down

Re: Retreat After Loosing a Melee

Post by T13A on Fri Apr 13, 2018 7:00 pm

Hi Zippee

Many thanks for the clarification. I wish it had been clearer in the rules.

Cheers Paul

T13A
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 27
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2016-01-08

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Retreat After Loosing a Melee

Post by Gaius Cassius on Sat Apr 14, 2018 10:34 pm

Zippee has it correct.

I recently had a unit of Tagmatic cavalry with a general forced to retreat into contact with an enemy skirmisher in my rear (intentionally placed there to thwart my retreat.) My opponent attempted to destroy this unit by meleeing it over several turns but fortunately the dice gods protected me. Had the unit routed my command would have broken and thus the army. Instead, my other flank destroyed its opponent and the game was won! There are no guarantees in Impetus, only probabilities.
avatar
Gaius Cassius
VBU 7 h.c.
VBU 7 h.c.

Posts : 807
Reputation : 24
Join date : 2014-05-20
Location : Guelph, Ontario, Canada

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Retreat After Loosing a Melee

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum