impetus
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Latest topics
» Chargers and Melee’s
FL interpenetration EmptyYesterday at 5:55 pm by Zippee

» Caesarian Roman Project
FL interpenetration EmptyTue Nov 29, 2022 12:21 pm by Frenchwargameholidays

» Pyrrhic army list (Warbook 1)
FL interpenetration EmptySat Nov 26, 2022 10:37 pm by jorneto

» Speed Painted Late Romans
FL interpenetration EmptyWed Nov 23, 2022 5:48 pm by ejc

» To The Strongest vs Impetus
FL interpenetration EmptySun Nov 13, 2022 12:58 am by Jon Freitag

» Rome v Gaul at Telamon 225BCE. BI2.0 on a grid
FL interpenetration EmptySat Nov 12, 2022 2:34 pm by kenntak

» FL interpenetration
FL interpenetration EmptyFri Nov 11, 2022 7:05 pm by Jon Freitag

» Legions interpenetrating other legions
FL interpenetration EmptyThu Nov 10, 2022 12:53 am by Robert Gargan

» Firing at Wagenburgs
FL interpenetration EmptyWed Nov 09, 2022 10:30 pm by David26

Warfare 2022 Battle of Asculum

Wed Nov 02, 2022 7:55 pm by ejc

We are putting on battle of Asculum at warfare on behalf of the Society of …

Comments: 1

SELWG Battle of GAZA

Tue Oct 04, 2022 8:50 pm by ejc

Following on from our game at Colours 'magensia' our group is putting on the …

Comments: 10

UK Tournaments/Campaign Days or Weekends?

Fri Oct 21, 2022 8:54 am by Atheling

Hi,

Going back quite a few years there used to be regular UK Impetus …

Comments: 9

Warfare 2021 battle of Ilipia 206BC

Mon Nov 22, 2021 9:36 pm by ejc

Just a reminder we are putting on this game on behalf of the society of …

Comments: 4

Selwg 2021 Battle of Trebia

Fri Oct 29, 2021 10:37 pm by ejc

Good to be back at shows. Thank you to those who came for a chat. Excellent …

Comments: 26

Salute 2021 Paraitkene 317 BC

Mon Nov 15, 2021 11:45 pm by ejc

It was good to chat to so many people a bit surprised some people still using …

Comments: 12

December 2022
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
   1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 

Calendar Calendar


FL interpenetration

3 posters

Go down

FL interpenetration Empty FL interpenetration

Post by MiniEel Fri Oct 14, 2022 2:03 am

Hi all,
Even after reading the interpenetration rules many times I am still unsure about FL impetuous interpenetration.
Edited 5.7.1 Voluntary Interpenetration rule that only contains words relating to FL:
"2) Light Infantry that is not impetuous AND is not in a Large Unit  . .  . can be interpenetrated by any troop type and can interpenetrate any other foot that are not impetuous."
Emphasis added for AND, that is the non-impetuous AND Large Unit conditions both apply, not only one of them.
So in re-ordering that sentence and splitting into a) interpenetrated, and b) interpenetrating gives this:
a) Impetuous FL not in a Large Unit can be interpenetrated by any troop type
b) Impetuous FL not in a Large Unit can interpenetrate any other non-impetuous foot

Is this correct? i.e. can impetuous FL interpenetrate as above if they are not in a Large Unit? If it isn't correct why is it "and" instead of "or"

MiniEel
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 7
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2019-09-03

Back to top Go down

FL interpenetration Empty Re: FL interpenetration

Post by RogerC Sun Oct 16, 2022 2:14 pm

Hello MiniEel. I agree the interpenetration rules are somewhat hard to understand, but I think your conclusions about impetuous FL aren’t correct. I’ll try to explain how I see it.

I think you have to start with the general statement earlier in 5.7.1 that ‘The only interpenetrations allowed in Basic Impetus are as follows:’. So points 1 to 4 list the allowable interpenetrations, and any attempted interpenetration which doesn’t meet one of the conditions in 1 to 4 isn’t permitted. To put things another way, there is a general prohibition of interpenetration except when one of the specific conditions 1 to 4 apply.

Now consider impetuous FL. Is it ‘Light infantry that is not impetuous and not in a Large Unit’? Clearly not, so it can’t make use of that condition to escape the general prohibition of interpenetration. It can make use of 3 to interpenetrate Wagenburgs. Otherwise none of the other conditions in 1 to 4 apply, so 3 is the only permitted interpenetration for impetuous FL. In a similar way, none of the conditions 1 to 4 allow impetuous FL to be interpenetrated by anything other than S.

I hope that makes sense. I also hope you can see why it is ‘and’, as it is part of an exception to a general rule. If it had said ‘or’, that would have been a very different exception - compare ‘no interpenetration unless X and Y’ with ‘no interpenetration unless X or Y’.

RogerC




RogerC
VBU 3
VBU 3

Posts : 168
Reputation : 3
Join date : 2014-05-20

Back to top Go down

FL interpenetration Empty Re: FL interpenetration

Post by Jon Freitag Fri Nov 11, 2022 7:05 pm

MiniEel and Roger,

Point (2) that is causing this confusion ought to be looked at with respect to Boolean logic.

Not A and Not B is the same as Not (A or B).

In this context, the statement can be rewritten as,
Light infantry that is neither Impetuous nor in a Large Unit can...

Jon Freitag
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 14
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2015-02-09

Back to top Go down

FL interpenetration Empty Re: FL interpenetration

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum