Latest topics
» New Kingdom Egyptians vs Sea People Basic Impetus Game
Today at 12:11 am by Cyrus

» Shooting allowed ?
Yesterday at 4:14 pm by dadiepiombo

» New betas: Late 30YW Swedish and German Catholic
Yesterday at 4:12 pm by dadiepiombo

» Baggage Dimensions
Yesterday at 4:04 pm by dadiepiombo

» Hundred and One Years War
Mon Jul 16, 2018 6:21 am by Jim Webster

» I am trying some rules amendments
Fri Jul 06, 2018 10:01 pm by stecal

» Basic Impetus Laval, Pays de loire
Fri Jul 06, 2018 4:07 pm by Bobo

» next army lists?
Fri Jul 06, 2018 5:04 am by flaminpig0

» Anyone make custom mats?
Thu Jul 05, 2018 9:57 pm by Phillius

BI2 tournament - 12 May 2018 - CANCELLED

Tue Jan 23, 2018 10:26 am by RogerC

EDIT I am very sorry, but I’ve had to CANCEL this tournament. I’ve …

Comments: 9

Vapnartak. Sunday 4th February 2018 Knavesmere Stand York Racecourse

Thu Jan 04, 2018 7:54 am by Cyrus The Adequate

Hi Gents

York is the usual first event in the UK Impetus calendar. This year …

Comments: 28

Basic Impetus 2 Comp, January 2018?

Mon Oct 30, 2017 10:03 am by Aurelius

I've brought the confirmed details for the Basic Impetus competition to the …

Comments: 32

Vapnartak York Feb 2018- format options?

Wed Oct 18, 2017 8:26 am by Cyrus The Adequate

Hi everyone

I was pondering the options for the York competition and wondered …

Comments: 11

Impetus Competition Derby Worlds 2017

Sun Jul 02, 2017 4:42 pm by Cyrus The Adequate

There will be a 28mm Impetus Competition at Derby World Wargames on 7th …

Comments: 47

Impetus at Derby?

Thu Apr 27, 2017 9:29 am by Cyrus The Adequate

Anyone interested ? 7th & 8th October at a new venue - Bruntingthorpe …

Comments: 11

July 2018
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
      1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031     

Calendar Calendar


Potential Charge

Go down

Potential Charge

Post by Tarty on Mon Oct 05, 2015 7:02 am

Potential Charge interpretation came up on the weekend at MOAB
Advanced Impetus page 12 under Potential Charge last paragraph it says

if contact is not made because the
charging unit’s target evaded and no other enemy made an
opportunity charge, the Potential Charge is considered to
be a normal move, so other actions are allowed.


Does this mean 'other actions' are allowed after the move ? or 'other actions' means the initial move that triggered the evade in the first place can be converted to a 'normal move' of any kind ? e.g. a wheel, sideways move, oblique or even a move to the rear etc

avatar
Tarty
VBU 7 h.c.
VBU 7 h.c.

Posts : 541
Reputation : 9
Join date : 2014-05-19
Location : SYDNEY

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Potential Charge

Post by Zippee on Mon Oct 05, 2015 8:50 am

It means the initial charge move now constitutes a normal move and does not prevent the unit attempting subsequent actions.
avatar
Zippee
VBU 5
VBU 5

Posts : 599
Reputation : 12
Join date : 2014-05-19
Age : 55
Location : London, UK

View user profile https://www.flickr.com/photos/zippee/sets/

Back to top Go down

Re: Potential Charge

Post by Granicus Gaugamela on Mon Oct 05, 2015 10:45 am

The question is - must the unit declaring the potential charge complete the move to the original position of the evading unit or can it do something else if the evasion is successful?

Granicus Gaugamela
VBU 4
VBU 4

Posts : 443
Reputation : 11
Join date : 2014-05-19

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Potential Charge

Post by Tarty on Mon Oct 05, 2015 11:03 am

Zippee wrote:It means the initial charge move now constitutes a normal move and does not prevent the unit attempting subsequent actions.
That's my feeling on this also the initial charge move becomes a full normal move.
avatar
Tarty
VBU 7 h.c.
VBU 7 h.c.

Posts : 541
Reputation : 9
Join date : 2014-05-19
Location : SYDNEY

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Potential Charge

Post by Zippee on Mon Oct 05, 2015 12:14 pm

We play it must move to the position of the evader. There's an unclear statement yo that effect somewhere but whether it means you stop at point of presumed contact or on the departed footprint has caused some discussion. As a wheel is a separate action and you can't wheel into contact and you don't know if the enemy will evade I don't see how the potential charge can be anything other than a normal move.
avatar
Zippee
VBU 5
VBU 5

Posts : 599
Reputation : 12
Join date : 2014-05-19
Age : 55
Location : London, UK

View user profile https://www.flickr.com/photos/zippee/sets/

Back to top Go down

Re: Potential Charge

Post by dadiepiombo on Mon Oct 05, 2015 1:35 pm

when you declare a pontential charge you declare that you are going to move towards an enemy unit and that movement can generate a melee if the opponent doesn't evade. So you need to move at least till that critical point, but you can move further.
avatar
dadiepiombo
Admin
Admin

Posts : 909
Reputation : 33
Join date : 2014-05-15

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Potential Charge

Post by Gaius Cassius on Mon Oct 05, 2015 2:31 pm

We had a situation last night where a CL moved to contact a S unit at 9U. Right behind the S was another S on the same side. If the CL wants to keep moving beyond the first S's location does it need to designate both S units as part of a potential charge? Or the back S unit? If it only designates the front S unit would that stop the CL from advancing potentially into contact with the second S?
avatar
Gaius Cassius
VBU 7 h.c.
VBU 7 h.c.

Posts : 815
Reputation : 24
Join date : 2014-05-20
Location : Guelph, Ontario, Canada

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Potential Charge

Post by Zippee on Mon Oct 05, 2015 2:46 pm

In the case of S I think you can do either. Against heavier you would need to indicate the charge against the unit screened by S. But mostly I think you make your intent crystal clear at the beginning.
avatar
Zippee
VBU 5
VBU 5

Posts : 599
Reputation : 12
Join date : 2014-05-19
Age : 55
Location : London, UK

View user profile https://www.flickr.com/photos/zippee/sets/

Back to top Go down

Re: Potential Charge

Post by Tarty on Mon Oct 05, 2015 10:01 pm

the Potential Charge is considered to be a normal move ..... was where the other interpretation came from. Made the right ruling on the day so all good Smile
avatar
Tarty
VBU 7 h.c.
VBU 7 h.c.

Posts : 541
Reputation : 9
Join date : 2014-05-19
Location : SYDNEY

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Potential Charge

Post by dadiepiombo on Wed Oct 07, 2015 2:17 pm

well the pontential charge has 2 aims
1) allow the opponent to evade
2) allow you to move and not fail the charge if he evades.
So if you want to reach the second S and the second S can evade you have to declare a potential charge where both S can be involved.
avatar
dadiepiombo
Admin
Admin

Posts : 909
Reputation : 33
Join date : 2014-05-15

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Potential Charge

Post by GamesPoet on Fri Oct 09, 2015 8:57 pm

Seems to make sense. : )

GamesPoet
VBU 3
VBU 3

Posts : 232
Reputation : 6
Join date : 2015-05-04

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Potential Charge

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum