Latest topics
» A few questions please
Yesterday at 9:15 pm by prapor

» Burgundian mixed pike/Longbow units
Sun Sep 23, 2018 5:39 pm by Nick B

» Any news on Impertus 2?
Sun Sep 23, 2018 9:08 am by Roundie

» Pics for Impetus 2
Sun Sep 23, 2018 5:08 am by morrisbh

» Compte-rendu de partie
Sat Sep 22, 2018 11:07 am by Bobo

» Les petits plus de BI
Tue Sep 18, 2018 1:53 pm by Bobo

» aide jeu 1 interpénétrations et reculs
Sun Sep 02, 2018 9:29 am by Bobo

» An Ancient Campaign using Sabin's Empire as a basis and Basic Impetus (augmented) to fight the battles
Sat Sep 01, 2018 1:44 pm by 1ngram

» Help in making a errata/FAQ
Mon Aug 27, 2018 6:51 am by ether drake

BI2 tournament - 12 May 2018 - CANCELLED

Tue Jan 23, 2018 10:26 am by RogerC

EDIT I am very sorry, but I’ve had to CANCEL this tournament. I’ve …

Comments: 9

Vapnartak. Sunday 4th February 2018 Knavesmere Stand York Racecourse

Thu Jan 04, 2018 7:54 am by Cyrus The Adequate

Hi Gents

York is the usual first event in the UK Impetus calendar. This year …

Comments: 28

Basic Impetus 2 Comp, January 2018?

Mon Oct 30, 2017 10:03 am by Aurelius

I've brought the confirmed details for the Basic Impetus competition to the …

Comments: 32

Vapnartak York Feb 2018- format options?

Wed Oct 18, 2017 8:26 am by Cyrus The Adequate

Hi everyone

I was pondering the options for the York competition and wondered …

Comments: 11

Impetus Competition Derby Worlds 2017

Sun Jul 02, 2017 4:42 pm by Cyrus The Adequate

There will be a 28mm Impetus Competition at Derby World Wargames on 7th …

Comments: 47

Impetus at Derby?

Thu Apr 27, 2017 9:29 am by Cyrus The Adequate

Anyone interested ? 7th & 8th October at a new venue - Bruntingthorpe …

Comments: 11

September 2018

Calendar Calendar

Sevral questions on rules (advanced impetus)

Go down

Sevral questions on rules (advanced impetus)

Post by Tombeapix on Mon Jul 03, 2017 9:13 am


Playing with friends (mostly XVth century), we had several questions about the rules. Reading the "advanced impetus" document, we had even more !
(We play with a french rulebook, so I hope my translations will be the right ones...)

1°) About stakes : the rules stand that mouted troops charging stakes are disordered and suffer -1 dice in melee, and cancel impetus bonus. Does it mean that a VBU 8 CP charging longbowmen behind stakes will fight with 6 dice ? (8 - 1 because of Disorder - 1 of stakes) Or is the "-1 dice" written in the rules only a reminder of the consequence of Disorder ?

2°) Shieldwall : The advanced Impetus rule stands that it is possible to form automatically a shieldwall as a reaction, "like evasion". But the same document stands later that evasion, if the unit is not on opportunity, needs a discipline test... So is the shieldwall automatic or does it need a discipline test ?

3°) Is it possible for a unit to fire twice a turn ? For example : english longbowmen (longbow A) face units of french knights. The English player has initiative and fires with his units. Then the french knights play and charge a unit of the English army. The charge accidentally brings them in the ZoC of the english longbowmen. Can the English fire a second time this turn as opportunity fire (and at 5U with longbow A against mounted troops just before the melee...) ?

4°) Wheel : is it possible to wheel and advance in the same movement phase, taking in account the distance needed for the wheel (in the same way as for the "free" wheel of impetuous troops) ? Or do I need two movement phases to wheel a unit and then advance in the new orientation ?
-> In case of a charge : can wheel and charge in the same movement phase, or do I need two movements, risking to disorder my unit when arriving in contact ?

5°) Long spear : Does a unit armed with long spears also cancel Impetus bonus from CP units that charge on flank or rear ? Or only against frontal charge ?

6°) Missed charge : I want one of my CP unit to charge. I take the movement bonus... and the charge is to short ! How far does my unit go ? 8 + 1D6 U or only the D6 U ?

7°) Bagages : the advanced Impetus rules stands that it is possible to deploy bagages within 12U of the side edge. It also stands that I can deploy a Large Unit or up to 3 Units in front of my bagages, even exceeding the deployment area. So is it possible to deploy this Large Unit or these 3 Units within 12U of the side edge ?

8°) Advanced deployment B (Advanced Impetus) : do all mounted Units have to belong to the same Command ? Or can they be from several different commands ?

9°) End of a turn : The rules stands that the rout of a Command or of the army is determined at the end of a turn. I have several Commands in my army. One of them routs at the end of the turn, bringing my VDT under 50%. Does the whole army rout now ? Or at the end of the next turn, rwhen I will determine again if my amy routs ?

Thanks a lot !


Posts : 3
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2016-01-06

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Sevral questions on rules (advanced impetus)

Post by Gaius Cassius on Wed Jul 05, 2017 2:30 am

1. 3.6.2 can be read either way. Good question. My suspicion based on how Impetus is written is that the CP end up with 6 dice.

2. Shieldwall is automatic.

3. The simple answer is yes, one fire in the units activation and any number of reaction fires as long as the firing unit is in good order. Remember the advancing unit must be moving through the firing unit’s ZOC in a manner that will not cause it to contact the firing unit to qualify for reaction fire. A unit on opportunity can not fire twice in one turn (unless there is a reaction response). So if the firing unit shoots while on opportunity it is marked as fired even if its command should activate later in the turn.

4. Two movement phases.

5. Long spear cancels impetus for mounted units no matter what flank it is contact on.

6. 8 + 1D6

7. No

9. You determine the command and army morale at the end of the turn.
Gaius Cassius
VBU 7 h.c.
VBU 7 h.c.

Posts : 815
Reputation : 24
Join date : 2014-05-20
Location : Guelph, Ontario, Canada

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Back to top

- Similar topics

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum