Latest topics
» Baggage Dimensions
Today at 8:37 am by Farstrider

» Hundred and One Years War
Yesterday at 6:21 am by Jim Webster

» New Kingdom Egyptians vs Sea People Basic Impetus Game
Yesterday at 2:24 am by Cyrus

» Shooting allowed ?
Thu Jul 12, 2018 9:02 pm by Bobo

» New betas: Late 30YW Swedish and German Catholic
Mon Jul 09, 2018 1:01 am by stecal

» I am trying some rules amendments
Fri Jul 06, 2018 10:01 pm by stecal

» Basic Impetus Laval, Pays de loire
Fri Jul 06, 2018 4:07 pm by Bobo

» next army lists?
Fri Jul 06, 2018 5:04 am by flaminpig0

» Anyone make custom mats?
Thu Jul 05, 2018 9:57 pm by Phillius

BI2 tournament - 12 May 2018 - CANCELLED

Tue Jan 23, 2018 10:26 am by RogerC

EDIT I am very sorry, but I’ve had to CANCEL this tournament. I’ve …

Comments: 9

Vapnartak. Sunday 4th February 2018 Knavesmere Stand York Racecourse

Thu Jan 04, 2018 7:54 am by Cyrus The Adequate

Hi Gents

York is the usual first event in the UK Impetus calendar. This year …

Comments: 28

Basic Impetus 2 Comp, January 2018?

Mon Oct 30, 2017 10:03 am by Aurelius

I've brought the confirmed details for the Basic Impetus competition to the …

Comments: 32

Vapnartak York Feb 2018- format options?

Wed Oct 18, 2017 8:26 am by Cyrus The Adequate

Hi everyone

I was pondering the options for the York competition and wondered …

Comments: 11

Impetus Competition Derby Worlds 2017

Sun Jul 02, 2017 4:42 pm by Cyrus The Adequate

There will be a 28mm Impetus Competition at Derby World Wargames on 7th …

Comments: 47

Impetus at Derby?

Thu Apr 27, 2017 9:29 am by Cyrus The Adequate

Anyone interested ? 7th & 8th October at a new venue - Bruntingthorpe …

Comments: 11

July 2018
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
      1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031     

Calendar Calendar


Pilum & PBW

Go down

Pilum & PBW

Post by prapor on Sun Jan 15, 2017 3:28 pm

Didn't find that only FRESH can use Pilum & PBW like in full Impetus. Is it correct that now they fire with wounds?

prapor
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 15
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2015-06-13

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Pilum & PBW

Post by Zippee on Mon Jan 16, 2017 12:48 pm

As written you can use Pilum and PBW even when worn in BI2.

No idea what that may mean for Impetus II. We haven't had an AI for this year so hard to compare.
avatar
Zippee
VBU 5
VBU 5

Posts : 598
Reputation : 12
Join date : 2014-05-19
Age : 55
Location : London, UK

View user profile https://www.flickr.com/photos/zippee/sets/

Back to top Go down

Re: Pilum & PBW

Post by Aurelius on Mon Jan 16, 2017 6:06 pm

Not played BI2 yet, so no expert. The key phrase appears to be "During the first melee phase with enemy..." (6.5). So yes, no mention of needing to be fresh, but it is only a single shot.

Aurelius
VBU 3
VBU 3

Posts : 186
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-05-19

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Pilum & PBW

Post by Zippee on Mon Jan 16, 2017 9:07 pm

Yeah the question there though is does that mean "the first melee phase of the game" or "the first melee phase of this melee"

I think the latter you imply you think the former, so there's bound to be dispute. . .
avatar
Zippee
VBU 5
VBU 5

Posts : 598
Reputation : 12
Join date : 2014-05-19
Age : 55
Location : London, UK

View user profile https://www.flickr.com/photos/zippee/sets/

Back to top Go down

Re: Pilum & PBW

Post by dadiepiombo on Thu Jan 19, 2017 11:05 am

only one bound and once you enter in melee for the first time.
So for example a legionary Unit that took a loss during a firing phase can still throw pila once enters in melee for the first time. First phase of melee.
avatar
dadiepiombo
Admin
Admin

Posts : 904
Reputation : 33
Join date : 2014-05-15

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Pilum & PBW

Post by grenadiergrandson on Fri Jan 20, 2017 8:39 pm

A very timely post - first game with Rep Romans coming up this week! So just to be absolutely clear, on the first phase of every melee no matter what the strength of the unit they get to roll 4 or 2 dice as appropriate? That would be nice if its right Smile Also it would make sense for deep units of Hastati and Principes to have more than one shot.

Cheers

grenadiergrandson
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 68
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-05-22

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Pilum & PBW

Post by jeztodd on Sun Jan 22, 2017 7:36 pm

Hi Mark, Jez here - I remember we met at lots of competitions but famously never got drawn against each other!!

Personally I take Lorenzo's post to read you can only use the pilum and PBW once in a game?

Can I ask is Basic Impetus 2 going down well in South Wales?

Cheers Jez





avatar
jeztodd
VBU 3
VBU 3

Posts : 209
Reputation : 6
Join date : 2014-05-19

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Pilum & PBW

Post by Scruff on Mon Jan 23, 2017 8:06 am

woah, just scrolled back to re read Lorenzo's post and how he worded it I agree with Jez, its only a 1 time, 1st combat throw.... He keeps emphasizing "First"

only one bound and once you enter in melee for the first time. So for example a legionary Unit that took a loss during a firing phase can still throw pila once enters in melee for the first time. First phase of melee. wrote:

Scruff
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 20
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2016-01-01

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Pilum & PBW

Post by Zippee on Mon Jan 23, 2017 1:37 pm

I can certainly see that this seems the likely interpretation, although it's still a tad cryptic. Cool

A nice simple Yes/No answer to:
"Can a unit only use pilum/PBW once per game?"
would be nice.

Personally I don't like that mechanic if it's so - javelinmen don't run out of javelins and they carry no more javelins than legionaries do pila. And I dislike the special case memory thing.

It would make more sense to allow the use in the same situation as impetus is allowed - ie if moving into contact and fresh.
avatar
Zippee
VBU 5
VBU 5

Posts : 598
Reputation : 12
Join date : 2014-05-19
Age : 55
Location : London, UK

View user profile https://www.flickr.com/photos/zippee/sets/

Back to top Go down

Re: Pilum & PBW

Post by dadiepiombo on Mon Jan 23, 2017 6:06 pm

"A nice simple Yes/No answer to:
"Can a unit only use pilum/PBW once per game?"
would be nice."

Yes (once per game)

"javelinmen don't run out of javelins and they carry no more javelins than legionaries do pila. "

Javelinmen rely on a different tactic and they are usually a VBU 4 Unit. Legionaries have VBU 6 and are basically a melee troop (the best among foot).
In Impetus they risked to loose the pilum before being use, so I see an improvement here.

avatar
dadiepiombo
Admin
Admin

Posts : 904
Reputation : 33
Join date : 2014-05-15

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Pilum & PBW

Post by Zippee on Tue Jan 24, 2017 11:56 am

Thanks for the clarity Lorenzo
avatar
Zippee
VBU 5
VBU 5

Posts : 598
Reputation : 12
Join date : 2014-05-19
Age : 55
Location : London, UK

View user profile https://www.flickr.com/photos/zippee/sets/

Back to top Go down

Re: Pilum & PBW

Post by grenadiergrandson on Thu Jan 26, 2017 11:10 am

Thanks Lorenzo, I think Legionaries not losing the pila after taking one loss is a definite improvement.

Hi Jez we may have chance to finally cross swords in march, if you're interested I think Roger Calderbank is organising a BI2 tournament just outside Bristol and I'll be putting my name down. I'll be having a look at what he's posted next and get ready to dust some old figures off!! Cheers

grenadiergrandson
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 68
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-05-22

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Pilum & PBW

Post by Incendiary Pig on Sat Apr 15, 2017 7:02 am

One more question on this subject: Do you count as having fired your pilum / pbw if you are just fighting as a support unit for first time?

Incendiary Pig
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 22
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2015-03-09

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Pilum & PBW

Post by Zippee on Sat Apr 15, 2017 8:39 am

As you're using the pilum/PBW bonus then I think that's your lot. I appreciate you roll less dice but they're still used up.
avatar
Zippee
VBU 5
VBU 5

Posts : 598
Reputation : 12
Join date : 2014-05-19
Age : 55
Location : London, UK

View user profile https://www.flickr.com/photos/zippee/sets/

Back to top Go down

Re: Pilum & PBW

Post by dadiepiombo on Sat Apr 15, 2017 2:00 pm

yes, you must roll for pilum at first contact, so you have lost the pilum after it
avatar
dadiepiombo
Admin
Admin

Posts : 904
Reputation : 33
Join date : 2014-05-15

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Pilum & PBW

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum