Latest topics
» A few questions please
Today at 9:15 pm by prapor

» Burgundian mixed pike/Longbow units
Yesterday at 5:39 pm by Nick B

» Any news on Impertus 2?
Yesterday at 9:08 am by Roundie

» Pics for Impetus 2
Yesterday at 5:08 am by morrisbh

» Compte-rendu de partie
Sat Sep 22, 2018 11:07 am by Bobo

» Les petits plus de BI
Tue Sep 18, 2018 1:53 pm by Bobo

» aide jeu 1 interpénétrations et reculs
Sun Sep 02, 2018 9:29 am by Bobo

» An Ancient Campaign using Sabin's Empire as a basis and Basic Impetus (augmented) to fight the battles
Sat Sep 01, 2018 1:44 pm by 1ngram

» Help in making a errata/FAQ
Mon Aug 27, 2018 6:51 am by ether drake

BI2 tournament - 12 May 2018 - CANCELLED

Tue Jan 23, 2018 10:26 am by RogerC

EDIT I am very sorry, but I’ve had to CANCEL this tournament. I’ve …

Comments: 9

Vapnartak. Sunday 4th February 2018 Knavesmere Stand York Racecourse

Thu Jan 04, 2018 7:54 am by Cyrus The Adequate

Hi Gents

York is the usual first event in the UK Impetus calendar. This year …

Comments: 28

Basic Impetus 2 Comp, January 2018?

Mon Oct 30, 2017 10:03 am by Aurelius

I've brought the confirmed details for the Basic Impetus competition to the …

Comments: 32

Vapnartak York Feb 2018- format options?

Wed Oct 18, 2017 8:26 am by Cyrus The Adequate

Hi everyone

I was pondering the options for the York competition and wondered …

Comments: 11

Impetus Competition Derby Worlds 2017

Sun Jul 02, 2017 4:42 pm by Cyrus The Adequate

There will be a 28mm Impetus Competition at Derby World Wargames on 7th …

Comments: 47

Impetus at Derby?

Thu Apr 27, 2017 9:29 am by Cyrus The Adequate

Anyone interested ? 7th & 8th October at a new venue - Bruntingthorpe …

Comments: 11

September 2018
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
     12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Calendar Calendar


Skirmisher question

Go down

Skirmisher question

Post by Sargon on Fri Dec 30, 2016 11:18 pm

Hi,
Just finished my first full game of BI and noticed this odd situation;
Most skirmishers have a VBU of 2 but there is a -2 penalty for shooting at S, so two lines of skirmishers can't do any damage to each other. What am I missing? I know you get a minimum of 1 die when in melee but I can't find anything similar in the firing rules.
Thanks!

Sargon
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 4
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2016-12-30

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Skirmisher question

Post by Zippee on Fri Dec 30, 2016 11:41 pm

You also have the weapon stat line bonus which adds. Or not so much to S weapons, S will usually get a dice against CL but S shooting S is pretty much ineffective.

In shooting you do not get the minimum 1 dice.

You're not missing anything - it's just that S v S is ineffective.
avatar
Zippee
VBU 5
VBU 5

Posts : 599
Reputation : 12
Join date : 2014-05-19
Age : 55
Location : London, UK

View user profile https://www.flickr.com/photos/zippee/sets/

Back to top Go down

Re: Skirmisher question

Post by Sargon on Sat Dec 31, 2016 10:51 am

Thanks for that, I just ended up with two units of javelinmen stood in a field looking at each other for the whole game which was odd. I'd overlooked that S can charge S. Doh.

Sargon
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 4
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2016-12-30

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Skirmisher question

Post by Zippee on Sun Jan 01, 2017 9:50 am

Might look odd from a wargames perspective but I think it's quite likely on most battlefields. Without someone making them do something aggressive (as you say charging one group) then they are likely to faff around quite happily while the heavily armoured nobility do the real fighting Smile
avatar
Zippee
VBU 5
VBU 5

Posts : 599
Reputation : 12
Join date : 2014-05-19
Age : 55
Location : London, UK

View user profile https://www.flickr.com/photos/zippee/sets/

Back to top Go down

Re: Skirmisher question

Post by Axebreaker on Sun Jan 01, 2017 1:24 pm

We applied our own house rule that skirmishes can throw 1 missile attack dice in these situations.

Christopher
avatar
Axebreaker
VBU 3
VBU 3

Posts : 104
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-05-19

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Skirmisher question

Post by Sargon on Sun Jan 01, 2017 7:25 pm

Possibly better to just consider S vs S in melee as not being hand to hand but just closing the range down to where it's effective. I'll take that as a narrative. Smile

Sargon
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 4
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2016-12-30

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Skirmisher question

Post by 1ngram on Mon Jan 02, 2017 1:51 pm

Skirmishers aren't there to fight and defeat other units but to screen their own main bodies and prevent the enemy causing damage to them before they can get into contact, to occupy bad terrain and deny its use to the enemy and, if unopposed by enemy skirmishers, to get round the flanks and shoot up ther enemy line.

If you make it possible/easy for them to hit enemy skirmishers then the random hit scored will most likely destroy their opponents and seriously unbalance things.

1ngram
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 94
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-06-07

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Skirmisher question

Post by Lemurcat on Tue Jan 03, 2017 1:49 pm

Funny how gamers think alike, in our game last week we had the same situation as Sargon, applied the same house rule as Axebreaker and had the same thoughts as Ingram about skirmishers role in the rules. Other then that things seemed to go smoothly.

Lemurcat
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 4
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2016-12-16
Location : United States of America

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Skirmisher question

Post by jeztodd on Mon Feb 06, 2017 10:04 pm

Just reviewing this thread as we had a BI2 game yesterday and of course ended up with skirmisher match up's - I think for players coming from full IMPETUS rules the skirmishers play very differently. We ended up fighting in melee but just also interpreted this as just very point blank skirmishing against each other.

Also later had a situation where a VBU 2 skirmish unit fought off CM cavalry that had pursed and contacted it - it was an annoying dice roll from the CM player with no hits. In some ways though it felt logical as the cavalry maybe just could not get to grips with the skirmishers and then fell back after taking casualties. In full Impetus though the skirmishers are automatically wiped out on contact.

Only played a couple of games of BI2 but I like a lot of the features, particularly that the S units get a chance to at least roll dice in a melee.

Wonder how many other players are taking up options to lose a S unit and get two initiative re-rolls.

Cheers Jez
avatar
jeztodd
VBU 3
VBU 3

Posts : 209
Reputation : 6
Join date : 2014-05-19

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Skirmisher question

Post by dadiepiombo on Sat Feb 11, 2017 1:34 pm

S are a god troop in BI2 and yes swap an S for 2 initiative re-roll needs a second thought.
avatar
dadiepiombo
Admin
Admin

Posts : 912
Reputation : 33
Join date : 2014-05-15

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Skirmisher question

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum