Latest topics
» A few questions on large units, pilums and multiple melees
Ambushes in the turn they are placed EmptyTue May 21, 2019 2:06 pm by Gaius Cassius

» Interpenetration and Displacement
Ambushes in the turn they are placed EmptyFri May 17, 2019 6:19 pm by RogerC

» Measurement Question In Basic Impetus 2.0
Ambushes in the turn they are placed EmptyFri May 17, 2019 5:46 pm by Zombiefy

» Base Depth: 40mm vs 60mm for FP and FL?
Ambushes in the turn they are placed EmptyThu May 16, 2019 2:31 pm by Gaius Cassius

» Battle of Harzhorn Salute 2019
Ambushes in the turn they are placed EmptySun May 12, 2019 5:24 pm by Marcus Aurelius MD

» The Illiad = The Wrath of Achilles
Ambushes in the turn they are placed EmptyThu May 09, 2019 8:04 pm by ejc

» Charges/ counter chares
Ambushes in the turn they are placed EmptyWed May 08, 2019 2:32 pm by dadiepiombo

» Can a general move with a unit after attaching same turn
Ambushes in the turn they are placed EmptyWed May 08, 2019 2:23 pm by dadiepiombo

» Byzantine 28mm
Ambushes in the turn they are placed EmptyMon May 06, 2019 5:38 pm by stecal

Battle of Harzhorn Salute 2019

Thu Mar 21, 2019 1:13 pm by ejc

Our group is putting on the above at the EXcell Centre London being the SAlute …

Comments: 14

The Illiad = The Wrath of Achilles

Thu May 09, 2019 12:41 pm by ejc

We will be putting this game on at one of the Autumn shorws probably Colours or …

Comments: 1

The Battle of Apamea at Hotlead

Sun Mar 17, 2019 12:50 am by Gaius Cassius

Hotlead is Canada's leading Miniature Wargames Convention. It is held in 2019 …

Comments: 2

BI2 tournament - 12 May 2018 - CANCELLED

Tue Jan 23, 2018 10:26 am by RogerC

EDIT I am very sorry, but I’ve had to CANCEL this tournament. I’ve …

Comments: 9

Vapnartak. Sunday 4th February 2018 Knavesmere Stand York Racecourse

Thu Jan 04, 2018 7:54 am by Cyrus The Adequate

Hi Gents

York is the usual first event in the UK Impetus calendar. This year …

Comments: 28

Basic Impetus 2 Comp, January 2018?

Mon Oct 30, 2017 10:03 am by Aurelius

I've brought the confirmed details for the Basic Impetus competition to the …

Comments: 32

May 2019
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Calendar Calendar


Ambushes in the turn they are placed

Go down

Ambushes in the turn they are placed Empty Ambushes in the turn they are placed

Post by accard on Wed Dec 14, 2016 3:30 pm

We had a question arise in a gamer tonight.

Player A attempts to move his FL into a wood, revealing an ambush therein. The FL stops short of the revealed units.

Player A then attempts to move another unit from the same command into contact with the just placed ambushing units.

The ambushing player claimed this was not allowed - that ambushing units could not be attacked in the turn they were placed.

The counter argument was that only the unit revealing the ambush could not attack.

Who was correct?

accard
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 78
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-09-09

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Ambushes in the turn they are placed Empty Re: Ambushes in the turn they are placed

Post by dadiepiombo on Wed Dec 14, 2016 4:00 pm

I suppose you are using the rules of Advanced.

Player A move his first (exploring) Unit. Mind that B must reveal his Unit after the movement of A is completed. So could be wise not move too close to avoid surprises.

After the movement of A, B puts his Unit(s) on the table, he can place where he wants provide they are inside (for more details see Advanced) the terrain feature. Doing so B can place his Unit in a way to deal with other possible incoming enemy. And of course another Unit of A can charge him.

Making ambush can be risky as a Unit can found himself isolated.
dadiepiombo
dadiepiombo
Admin
Admin

Posts : 999
Reputation : 40
Join date : 2014-05-15

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum