Latest topics
» A few questions on large units, pilums and multiple melees
Group Charge with flanks covered EmptyTue May 21, 2019 2:06 pm by Gaius Cassius

» Interpenetration and Displacement
Group Charge with flanks covered EmptyFri May 17, 2019 6:19 pm by RogerC

» Measurement Question In Basic Impetus 2.0
Group Charge with flanks covered EmptyFri May 17, 2019 5:46 pm by Zombiefy

» Base Depth: 40mm vs 60mm for FP and FL?
Group Charge with flanks covered EmptyThu May 16, 2019 2:31 pm by Gaius Cassius

» Battle of Harzhorn Salute 2019
Group Charge with flanks covered EmptySun May 12, 2019 5:24 pm by Marcus Aurelius MD

» The Illiad = The Wrath of Achilles
Group Charge with flanks covered EmptyThu May 09, 2019 8:04 pm by ejc

» Charges/ counter chares
Group Charge with flanks covered EmptyWed May 08, 2019 2:32 pm by dadiepiombo

» Can a general move with a unit after attaching same turn
Group Charge with flanks covered EmptyWed May 08, 2019 2:23 pm by dadiepiombo

» Byzantine 28mm
Group Charge with flanks covered EmptyMon May 06, 2019 5:38 pm by stecal

Battle of Harzhorn Salute 2019

Thu Mar 21, 2019 1:13 pm by ejc

Our group is putting on the above at the EXcell Centre London being the SAlute …

Comments: 14

The Illiad = The Wrath of Achilles

Thu May 09, 2019 12:41 pm by ejc

We will be putting this game on at one of the Autumn shorws probably Colours or …

Comments: 1

The Battle of Apamea at Hotlead

Sun Mar 17, 2019 12:50 am by Gaius Cassius

Hotlead is Canada's leading Miniature Wargames Convention. It is held in 2019 …

Comments: 2

BI2 tournament - 12 May 2018 - CANCELLED

Tue Jan 23, 2018 10:26 am by RogerC

EDIT I am very sorry, but I’ve had to CANCEL this tournament. I’ve …

Comments: 9

Vapnartak. Sunday 4th February 2018 Knavesmere Stand York Racecourse

Thu Jan 04, 2018 7:54 am by Cyrus The Adequate

Hi Gents

York is the usual first event in the UK Impetus calendar. This year …

Comments: 28

Basic Impetus 2 Comp, January 2018?

Mon Oct 30, 2017 10:03 am by Aurelius

I've brought the confirmed details for the Basic Impetus competition to the …

Comments: 32

May 2019
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Calendar Calendar


Group Charge with flanks covered

Go down

Group Charge with flanks covered Empty Group Charge with flanks covered

Post by Tankred on Fri May 06, 2016 10:14 am

During our last game I wondered if a group is allowed to charge if not every unit in the group will get in contact with an opponent.

In order to get an bonus for covered flanks it makes sense to move a unit, which cannot contact an enemy. For sure this can be a separate activation before the actual charge, but this feels not coherent and stylish.

So my question is:
Can a group charge an opponent with single elments in the group, which will not contact the enemy?
If yes, will the unit without base contact to the enemy be disordered?
Tankred
Tankred
VBU 3
VBU 3

Posts : 102
Reputation : 6
Join date : 2014-05-19

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Group Charge with flanks covered Empty Re: Group Charge with flanks covered

Post by AncientWarrior on Fri May 06, 2016 10:33 am

Hello Tankred,

Your question made me reach for the spiral-bound rules sitting on the bureau to my right.

Deferring to those with more experience and knowledge of course, I would refer you to the diagram on page 40, under section 7.7 - Contact between non-parallel lines.

At the risk of being corrected as well as chastised, I would answer yes, a group can charge and have units of the group not contact the enemy. I do not believe the charging unit not making contact will be disordered. Unless they attempt a charge move and fail, then yes.

Hope this helps. Stand by for answers from more experienced players.

Cheers,
Chris

AncientWarrior
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 75
Reputation : 3
Join date : 2014-06-09
Age : 54
Location : USA - Midwest region

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Group Charge with flanks covered Empty Re: Group Charge with flanks covered

Post by Tankred on Fri May 06, 2016 12:16 pm

Just looking in my PDF version of the impetus rules since the wire-bound rules are at home Very Happy

In this example the left unit could contact an enemy. I wanted to know if I may include it in the charge without the possiblity of a contact.

Since there is a workaround for this this is more a question of taste and feeling.
Tankred
Tankred
VBU 3
VBU 3

Posts : 102
Reputation : 6
Join date : 2014-05-19

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Group Charge with flanks covered Empty Re: Group Charge with flanks covered

Post by Gaius Cassius on Fri May 06, 2016 3:25 pm

I would say yes to both questions. Can charge and will end up disordered.
Gaius Cassius
Gaius Cassius
VBU 7 h.c.
VBU 7 h.c.

Posts : 965
Reputation : 36
Join date : 2014-05-20
Location : Guelph, Ontario, Canada

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Group Charge with flanks covered Empty Re: Group Charge with flanks covered

Post by Zippee on Fri May 06, 2016 4:53 pm

I would say a partial yes - I think the group can charge, no doubt in my mind about that.

However I think the non-contacting units are only disordered if normal movement is exceeded, ie if the charge bonus dice were used.
Zippee
Zippee
VBU 5
VBU 5

Posts : 611
Reputation : 12
Join date : 2014-05-19
Age : 55
Location : Lincolnshire, UK

View user profile https://www.flickr.com/photos/zippee/sets/

Back to top Go down

Group Charge with flanks covered Empty Re: Group Charge with flanks covered

Post by SteveI42 on Fri May 06, 2016 6:19 pm

Zippee wrote:I would say a partial yes - I think the group can charge, no doubt in my mind about that.

However I think the non-contacting units are only disordered if normal movement is exceeded, ie if the charge bonus dice were used.
This is how I've always played it.
7.7.1 allows single units within a group to use the cgarge bonus as described by 5.8.1
5.8.1 states that a unit that uses the charge bonus but doesn't contact the enemy immediately becomes disordered

SteveI42
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 54
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-08-04

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Group Charge with flanks covered Empty Re: Group Charge with flanks covered

Post by Gaius Cassius on Fri May 06, 2016 7:15 pm

So there you go! You learn something everyday (almost!) on the Forum. In looking over the 7.7.1 an 5.8.1 I think Zippee and Steve are correct about the disorder effect.
Gaius Cassius
Gaius Cassius
VBU 7 h.c.
VBU 7 h.c.

Posts : 965
Reputation : 36
Join date : 2014-05-20
Location : Guelph, Ontario, Canada

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Group Charge with flanks covered Empty Re: Group Charge with flanks covered

Post by Tankred on Mon May 09, 2016 9:40 am

That helped guys! Thanks a lot.
Tankred
Tankred
VBU 3
VBU 3

Posts : 102
Reputation : 6
Join date : 2014-05-19

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Group Charge with flanks covered Empty Re: Group Charge with flanks covered

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum