Latest topics
» Counter-charge
Yesterday at 12:45 pm by Redbat

» FP Large Units classed A
Thu Nov 15, 2018 5:58 pm by Gaius Cassius

» Mayan Battles
Wed Nov 14, 2018 1:23 pm by jorneto

» Pike in the up and coming Impetus 2
Tue Nov 13, 2018 5:06 pm by Incendiary Pig

» min dice when shooting
Fri Nov 02, 2018 1:57 am by thegatt

» Current position regarding Impetus Fantasy?
Mon Oct 29, 2018 5:52 pm by Bluewillow

» Reaction system of Baroque in Impetus?
Thu Oct 25, 2018 10:28 pm by Tarty

» Blue Moon Italian Wars units for sale
Wed Oct 17, 2018 1:38 pm by JTIPP68

» Pics for Impetus 2
Wed Oct 17, 2018 12:45 pm by morrisbh

BI2 tournament - 12 May 2018 - CANCELLED

Tue Jan 23, 2018 10:26 am by RogerC

EDIT I am very sorry, but I’ve had to CANCEL this tournament. I’ve …

Comments: 9

Vapnartak. Sunday 4th February 2018 Knavesmere Stand York Racecourse

Thu Jan 04, 2018 7:54 am by Cyrus The Adequate

Hi Gents

York is the usual first event in the UK Impetus calendar. This year …

Comments: 28

Basic Impetus 2 Comp, January 2018?

Mon Oct 30, 2017 10:03 am by Aurelius

I've brought the confirmed details for the Basic Impetus competition to the …

Comments: 32

Vapnartak York Feb 2018- format options?

Wed Oct 18, 2017 8:26 am by Cyrus The Adequate

Hi everyone

I was pondering the options for the York competition and wondered …

Comments: 11

Impetus Competition Derby Worlds 2017

Sun Jul 02, 2017 4:42 pm by Cyrus The Adequate

There will be a 28mm Impetus Competition at Derby World Wargames on 7th …

Comments: 47

Impetus at Derby?

Thu Apr 27, 2017 9:29 am by Cyrus The Adequate

Anyone interested ? 7th & 8th October at a new venue - Bruntingthorpe …

Comments: 11

November 2018
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
   1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Calendar Calendar


Second Evasion Move

Go down

Second Evasion Move

Post by Sun of York on Tue Feb 09, 2016 3:42 am

I'm going through the clarifications and annotating the rules. I read that you can do a second evasion move. I originally thought this was only if you were charged a second time and obviously by a different unit. But if I am understanding it correctly, assuming I pass the test and all other conditions, after I have done my first evade move, if I felt I was still not clear I could do a second one and risk being disordered at the end. Do I need to test again before making the second evasion move?

Such a double move means that S can possibly evade CL. It also means table depth is critical.
avatar
Sun of York
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 32
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2016-02-07
Location : Perth, Western Australia

View user profile http://onesidedminiaturewargamingdiscourse.blogspot.com.au/

Back to top Go down

Re: Second Evasion Move

Post by starkadder on Tue Feb 09, 2016 8:48 am

Check Example 3 (p30) for an example of how multiple evasions work. It's pretty uncommon.
avatar
starkadder
VBU 4
VBU 4

Posts : 303
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-05-19
Age : 64
Location : Tahmoor, NSW, Oz

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Second Evasion Move

Post by Sun of York on Tue Feb 09, 2016 9:01 am

The words in the example "practically declaring a charge" is interesting. I thought any movement with the intent to contact an enemy would be a charge. If the contact doesn't occur because the enemy evades and the moving unit did not use its charge bonus then it can make another move and potentially trigger a second evasion.

That clears it up. I was wrong thinking a unit could make a second evade move from the one charge.

Interesting.

Thanks.
avatar
Sun of York
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 32
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2016-02-07
Location : Perth, Western Australia

View user profile http://onesidedminiaturewargamingdiscourse.blogspot.com.au/

Back to top Go down

Re: Second Evasion Move

Post by Gaius Cassius on Tue Feb 09, 2016 1:59 pm

Have you got it Sun of York?

A S unit, for instance, can evade more than once as a response to a single charging unit. But it cannot evade more than once from a single charge declaration.  

Image a CM at 5U from an enemy S. The CM announces a potential charge at the S and decides if it wants to use its bonus movement roll. Let's say the CM decides not to use any bonus charge distance. The S rolls to evade (Discipline Test with modifications) and if it passes it moves back 8U. The CM now moves forward normally and ends only 13U away from the S. The CM decides to make a second move and declares a potential charge on the S and decides to us its charge movement bonus. The S rolls again and passes the DT and it then moves back another 8U. The S takes a second DT at the end of move and rolls a 2 meaning that it is now disordered and cannot make any further evades in response to the charging CM. The CM will automatically contact the S (10U + 1-6U from bonus die) in any event and disperse it. Since the charge began at PB range the S does not get a final "death" throw.  

Hope this helps.
avatar
Gaius Cassius
VBU 7 h.c.
VBU 7 h.c.

Posts : 820
Reputation : 24
Join date : 2014-05-20
Location : Guelph, Ontario, Canada

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Second Evasion Move

Post by Sun of York on Tue Feb 09, 2016 2:10 pm

Yep, getting there. In your narrative I think you mean "ends only 3U away" not 13.

This understanding of how movement/charge/evasion works would have helped my Gallic CM deal with the Numdian CL in a game I had recently. Just keep advancing and hope to pass discipline tests and that enemy fail or run out of table.

I have a game planned for tomorrow and will have to see what I can pull off.

Thanks for helping me.
avatar
Sun of York
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 32
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2016-02-07
Location : Perth, Western Australia

View user profile http://onesidedminiaturewargamingdiscourse.blogspot.com.au/

Back to top Go down

Re: Second Evasion Move

Post by Gaius Cassius on Tue Feb 09, 2016 3:18 pm

Good eyes Sun of York. Yes, 3U not 13U (where they started.) With only 4 ft of depth evade is not unlimited. I have found it generally helpful to bring up a CM within 1U of a CL and then declare a charge and roll the bonus die. The CL will end up 12.1U or so away which means one needs a 3-6 from the bonus charge move. Doesn't always work (and if you fail to contact the disorder for the CM can be a real problem but it does give one a reasonable chance of dealing with those pesky CL.)
avatar
Gaius Cassius
VBU 7 h.c.
VBU 7 h.c.

Posts : 820
Reputation : 24
Join date : 2014-05-20
Location : Guelph, Ontario, Canada

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Second Evasion Move

Post by Bluewillow on Thu Feb 11, 2016 11:30 pm

However they may not evade if charged in the flank
avatar
Bluewillow
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 14
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-05-19
Age : 49
Location : L'hotel de Herce, Ville Mayenne, France

View user profile http://stormandconquest.blogspot.com.au/

Back to top Go down

Re: Second Evasion Move

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum