Latest topics
» A few questions please
Yesterday at 9:15 pm by prapor

» Burgundian mixed pike/Longbow units
Sun Sep 23, 2018 5:39 pm by Nick B

» Any news on Impertus 2?
Sun Sep 23, 2018 9:08 am by Roundie

» Pics for Impetus 2
Sun Sep 23, 2018 5:08 am by morrisbh

» Compte-rendu de partie
Sat Sep 22, 2018 11:07 am by Bobo

» Les petits plus de BI
Tue Sep 18, 2018 1:53 pm by Bobo

» aide jeu 1 interpénétrations et reculs
Sun Sep 02, 2018 9:29 am by Bobo

» An Ancient Campaign using Sabin's Empire as a basis and Basic Impetus (augmented) to fight the battles
Sat Sep 01, 2018 1:44 pm by 1ngram

» Help in making a errata/FAQ
Mon Aug 27, 2018 6:51 am by ether drake

BI2 tournament - 12 May 2018 - CANCELLED

Tue Jan 23, 2018 10:26 am by RogerC

EDIT I am very sorry, but I’ve had to CANCEL this tournament. I’ve …

Comments: 9

Vapnartak. Sunday 4th February 2018 Knavesmere Stand York Racecourse

Thu Jan 04, 2018 7:54 am by Cyrus The Adequate

Hi Gents

York is the usual first event in the UK Impetus calendar. This year …

Comments: 28

Basic Impetus 2 Comp, January 2018?

Mon Oct 30, 2017 10:03 am by Aurelius

I've brought the confirmed details for the Basic Impetus competition to the …

Comments: 32

Vapnartak York Feb 2018- format options?

Wed Oct 18, 2017 8:26 am by Cyrus The Adequate

Hi everyone

I was pondering the options for the York competition and wondered …

Comments: 11

Impetus Competition Derby Worlds 2017

Sun Jul 02, 2017 4:42 pm by Cyrus The Adequate

There will be a 28mm Impetus Competition at Derby World Wargames on 7th …

Comments: 47

Impetus at Derby?

Thu Apr 27, 2017 9:29 am by Cyrus The Adequate

Anyone interested ? 7th & 8th October at a new venue - Bruntingthorpe …

Comments: 11

September 2018
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
     12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Calendar Calendar


"Impetuous" rule and skirmishers

Go down

"Impetuous" rule and skirmishers

Post by Tombeapix on Wed Jan 06, 2016 10:22 am

Hello,

I had a question concerning impetuous troops and skirmishers.

The "impetuous" rule tells that if an impetuous unit (for example gallic warriors) sees an ennemy unit within 30U, it has to move in the direction of that unit.
But if a unit of skirmishers of my army stands in front of my warriors, does it block the line of sight of the warriors, and by the way prevent the unit of charging boldly (stupidly ?) the nearest ennemy ?

Or, said in an other way : is it possible to control impetuous units with skirmishers ? Same question with CL units ?

Hopping my question and my english are understandable...
Thanks

Tombeapix
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 3
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2016-01-06

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: "Impetuous" rule and skirmishers

Post by RogerC on Wed Jan 06, 2016 1:04 pm

The S, or indeed CL don't block visibility for the impetuous unit. The impetuous unit just pushes through, displacing the S or CL if necessary. So you can't control impetuous troops with skirmishers.

Apart from keeping them in good order, on opportunity, the only way to stop impetuous troops is to create a log jam, by putting a unit they cannot interpenetrate in front of them. Then they can't move at all, until the blocking unit gets out of the way. Generally that isn't a good tactic, but can happen by accident or bad planning.

It may also be worth mentioning that impetuous troops don't 'see' enemy skirmishers, so impetuous units may have to move forward or towards another enemy unit, even when enemy skirmishers are nearby.

RogerC

RogerC
VBU 3
VBU 3

Posts : 161
Reputation : 3
Join date : 2014-05-20

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum