Latest topics
» A few questions on large units, pilums and multiple melees
Opportunity Fire - More than once in an enemy turn? EmptyTue May 21, 2019 2:06 pm by Gaius Cassius

» Interpenetration and Displacement
Opportunity Fire - More than once in an enemy turn? EmptyFri May 17, 2019 6:19 pm by RogerC

» Measurement Question In Basic Impetus 2.0
Opportunity Fire - More than once in an enemy turn? EmptyFri May 17, 2019 5:46 pm by Zombiefy

» Base Depth: 40mm vs 60mm for FP and FL?
Opportunity Fire - More than once in an enemy turn? EmptyThu May 16, 2019 2:31 pm by Gaius Cassius

» Battle of Harzhorn Salute 2019
Opportunity Fire - More than once in an enemy turn? EmptySun May 12, 2019 5:24 pm by Marcus Aurelius MD

» The Illiad = The Wrath of Achilles
Opportunity Fire - More than once in an enemy turn? EmptyThu May 09, 2019 8:04 pm by ejc

» Charges/ counter chares
Opportunity Fire - More than once in an enemy turn? EmptyWed May 08, 2019 2:32 pm by dadiepiombo

» Can a general move with a unit after attaching same turn
Opportunity Fire - More than once in an enemy turn? EmptyWed May 08, 2019 2:23 pm by dadiepiombo

» Byzantine 28mm
Opportunity Fire - More than once in an enemy turn? EmptyMon May 06, 2019 5:38 pm by stecal

Battle of Harzhorn Salute 2019

Thu Mar 21, 2019 1:13 pm by ejc

Our group is putting on the above at the EXcell Centre London being the SAlute …

Comments: 14

The Illiad = The Wrath of Achilles

Thu May 09, 2019 12:41 pm by ejc

We will be putting this game on at one of the Autumn shorws probably Colours or …

Comments: 1

The Battle of Apamea at Hotlead

Sun Mar 17, 2019 12:50 am by Gaius Cassius

Hotlead is Canada's leading Miniature Wargames Convention. It is held in 2019 …

Comments: 2

BI2 tournament - 12 May 2018 - CANCELLED

Tue Jan 23, 2018 10:26 am by RogerC

EDIT I am very sorry, but I’ve had to CANCEL this tournament. I’ve …

Comments: 9

Vapnartak. Sunday 4th February 2018 Knavesmere Stand York Racecourse

Thu Jan 04, 2018 7:54 am by Cyrus The Adequate

Hi Gents

York is the usual first event in the UK Impetus calendar. This year …

Comments: 28

Basic Impetus 2 Comp, January 2018?

Mon Oct 30, 2017 10:03 am by Aurelius

I've brought the confirmed details for the Basic Impetus competition to the …

Comments: 32

May 2019
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Calendar Calendar


Opportunity Fire - More than once in an enemy turn?

Go down

Opportunity Fire - More than once in an enemy turn? Empty Opportunity Fire - More than once in an enemy turn?

Post by T13A on Sun May 13, 2018 7:58 pm

Hi

If more than one unit of the active side enters the zone of control (ZOC) of a unit on the inactive side and shoots at the unit (i.e. one after the other), can the unit being shot at shoot back at each of them? In other words, although I appreciate that units on the 'active' side can only shoot once in the turn, does this also apply to units on the 'inactive' side if more than one enemy units enter their ZOC?

Hope that makes sense, it came up in a game a few days ago and we were left scratching out heads!

Many thanks for any help and clarification.

Cheers Paul

T13A
T13A
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 47
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2016-01-08

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Opportunity Fire - More than once in an enemy turn? Empty Re: Opportunity Fire - More than once in an enemy turn?

Post by Zippee on Mon May 14, 2018 7:06 pm

It used to be the case that you could either shoot in your phase or via opportunity, only shooting once per turn. That is no longer the case and units can both shoot on their activation and shoot via opportunity.

That said I think there's an implicit understanding that you can only opportunity react once per turn. Certainly when placed on opportunity reacting removes the status. ZOC opportunity is slightly different of course as the status potential always exists.

Even so the usual restrictions on shooting - LOS and such exist with reaction shooting, so I'm slightly struggling to understand how more than one enemy unit could be within 5u and still be valid targets. SO I rather suspect that the situation can't actually occur.

But if pushed I'd only allow one opportunity reaction.
Zippee
Zippee
VBU 5
VBU 5

Posts : 611
Reputation : 12
Join date : 2014-05-19
Age : 55
Location : Lincolnshire, UK

View user profile https://www.flickr.com/photos/zippee/sets/

Back to top Go down

Opportunity Fire - More than once in an enemy turn? Empty Re: Opportunity Fire - More than once in an enemy turn?

Post by Gaius Cassius on Mon May 14, 2018 8:09 pm

Zippee wrote:It used to be the case that you could either shoot in your phase or via opportunity, only shooting once per turn. That is no longer the case and units can both shoot on their activation and shoot via opportunity.

When did that ruling change Zippee? In fact, didn't you and I argue for the above as lay it out and Lorenzo ruled "against" us. I haven't seen any change in the rule since. Did I miss it?
Gaius Cassius
Gaius Cassius
VBU 7 h.c.
VBU 7 h.c.

Posts : 965
Reputation : 36
Join date : 2014-05-20
Location : Guelph, Ontario, Canada

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Opportunity Fire - More than once in an enemy turn? Empty Re: Opportunity Fire - More than once in an enemy turn?

Post by Zippee on Mon May 14, 2018 8:27 pm

Maybe I've just gotten used to playing that way - it's certainly not in AI I'll admit.

Anyway if the RAW is still you can only shoot once per turn, then you definitely can't shoot twice on opportunity - even if you can somehow get past all the shooting restrictions to legally do so.
Zippee
Zippee
VBU 5
VBU 5

Posts : 611
Reputation : 12
Join date : 2014-05-19
Age : 55
Location : Lincolnshire, UK

View user profile https://www.flickr.com/photos/zippee/sets/

Back to top Go down

Opportunity Fire - More than once in an enemy turn? Empty Re: Opportunity Fire - More than once in an enemy turn?

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum