Latest topics
» Newbie Questions
Today at 5:37 pm by parrskool

» First game of Baroque
Today at 5:35 pm by parrskool

» Can you shoot through artillary?
Yesterday at 7:13 pm by Zippee

» Impetuous Mounted Troops and Fortifications
Yesterday at 3:07 am by Gaius Cassius

» Cost of Scotts MAA downgraded to pike
Sun Apr 22, 2018 9:10 am by Geoffrm

» Ignoring Artillery
Thu Apr 19, 2018 9:55 pm by Aurelius

» BI2 tournament - 12 May 2018 - CANCELLED
Thu Apr 19, 2018 11:07 am by Aurelius

» Anyone make custom mats?
Wed Apr 18, 2018 5:15 pm by shakespear

» Retreat After Loosing a Melee
Sat Apr 14, 2018 10:34 pm by Gaius Cassius

BI2 tournament - 12 May 2018 - CANCELLED

Tue Jan 23, 2018 10:26 am by RogerC

EDIT I am very sorry, but I’ve had to CANCEL this tournament. I’ve …

Comments: 8

Vapnartak. Sunday 4th February 2018 Knavesmere Stand York Racecourse

Thu Jan 04, 2018 7:54 am by Cyrus The Adequate

Hi Gents

York is the usual first event in the UK Impetus calendar. This year …

Comments: 28

Basic Impetus 2 Comp, January 2018?

Mon Oct 30, 2017 10:03 am by Aurelius

I've brought the confirmed details for the Basic Impetus competition to the …

Comments: 32

Vapnartak York Feb 2018- format options?

Wed Oct 18, 2017 8:26 am by Cyrus The Adequate

Hi everyone

I was pondering the options for the York competition and wondered …

Comments: 11

Impetus Competition Derby Worlds 2017

Sun Jul 02, 2017 4:42 pm by Cyrus The Adequate

There will be a 28mm Impetus Competition at Derby World Wargames on 7th …

Comments: 47

Impetus at Derby?

Thu Apr 27, 2017 9:29 am by Cyrus The Adequate

Anyone interested ? 7th & 8th October at a new venue - Bruntingthorpe …

Comments: 11

April 2018
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
      1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30      

Calendar Calendar


"Long Spear" if not in a large unit

Go down

"Long Spear" if not in a large unit

Post by Eques on Fri Dec 08, 2017 10:36 am

Is there any advantage to this? Triarii, for example, might not want to form a large unit.

Eques
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 26
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2017-12-08

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: "Long Spear" if not in a large unit

Post by Zippee on Fri Dec 08, 2017 3:34 pm

long spears and pikes cancel mounted impetus


Last edited by Zippee on Fri Dec 08, 2017 3:53 pm; edited 1 time in total
avatar
Zippee
VBU 5
VBU 5

Posts : 591
Reputation : 12
Join date : 2014-05-19
Age : 54
Location : London, UK

View user profile https://www.flickr.com/photos/zippee/sets/

Back to top Go down

Re: "Long Spear" if not in a large unit

Post by Tankred on Fri Dec 08, 2017 3:45 pm

Longspears always negate the Impetus bonus of charging enemy cavalry. If you prefer to have a wider frontline e.g. in order to flank an opponent, this can make sense.
avatar
Tankred
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 98
Reputation : 3
Join date : 2014-05-19

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: "Long Spear" if not in a large unit

Post by Eques on Fri Dec 08, 2017 4:42 pm

Zippee wrote:long spears and pikes cancel mounted impetus

Thanks, which page is that on?

Eques
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 26
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2017-12-08

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: "Long Spear" if not in a large unit

Post by Zippee on Fri Dec 08, 2017 4:56 pm

I don't have the rules in front of me but it's listed under the benefit of the weapon - can't recall the page number, it should also be listed undder discussion of impetus, melee combat and the lists.


Last edited by Zippee on Wed Dec 13, 2017 11:39 am; edited 1 time in total
avatar
Zippee
VBU 5
VBU 5

Posts : 591
Reputation : 12
Join date : 2014-05-19
Age : 54
Location : London, UK

View user profile https://www.flickr.com/photos/zippee/sets/

Back to top Go down

Re: "Long Spear" if not in a large unit

Post by Eques on Fri Dec 08, 2017 5:12 pm

Thanks

Eques
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 26
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2017-12-08

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: "Long Spear" if not in a large unit

Post by Cyrus The Adequate on Wed Dec 13, 2017 8:31 am

I didn't think Triarii can form large units anyway?

Yes Long Spears always cancel the Impetus bonus of mounted troops. That applies regardless of the contact point so even if they're hit from the rear - Lorenzo thinks some troops would be able to turn to face that attack no matter what the circumstances - unlike Large unit bonus

avatar
Cyrus The Adequate
VBU 5
VBU 5

Posts : 565
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2014-05-27

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: "Long Spear" if not in a large unit

Post by Eques on Wed Dec 13, 2017 3:35 pm

Yes, sorry it was in the Unit Type descriptions near the front of the rules (I don't usually pay much attention to those because in most other rule-sets they just describe the historical troop type!)

Eques
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 26
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2017-12-08

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: "Long Spear" if not in a large unit

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum