Latest topics
» A few questions please
Yesterday at 9:15 pm by prapor

» Burgundian mixed pike/Longbow units
Sun Sep 23, 2018 5:39 pm by Nick B

» Any news on Impertus 2?
Sun Sep 23, 2018 9:08 am by Roundie

» Pics for Impetus 2
Sun Sep 23, 2018 5:08 am by morrisbh

» Compte-rendu de partie
Sat Sep 22, 2018 11:07 am by Bobo

» Les petits plus de BI
Tue Sep 18, 2018 1:53 pm by Bobo

» aide jeu 1 interpénétrations et reculs
Sun Sep 02, 2018 9:29 am by Bobo

» An Ancient Campaign using Sabin's Empire as a basis and Basic Impetus (augmented) to fight the battles
Sat Sep 01, 2018 1:44 pm by 1ngram

» Help in making a errata/FAQ
Mon Aug 27, 2018 6:51 am by ether drake

BI2 tournament - 12 May 2018 - CANCELLED

Tue Jan 23, 2018 10:26 am by RogerC

EDIT I am very sorry, but I’ve had to CANCEL this tournament. I’ve …

Comments: 9

Vapnartak. Sunday 4th February 2018 Knavesmere Stand York Racecourse

Thu Jan 04, 2018 7:54 am by Cyrus The Adequate

Hi Gents

York is the usual first event in the UK Impetus calendar. This year …

Comments: 28

Basic Impetus 2 Comp, January 2018?

Mon Oct 30, 2017 10:03 am by Aurelius

I've brought the confirmed details for the Basic Impetus competition to the …

Comments: 32

Vapnartak York Feb 2018- format options?

Wed Oct 18, 2017 8:26 am by Cyrus The Adequate

Hi everyone

I was pondering the options for the York competition and wondered …

Comments: 11

Impetus Competition Derby Worlds 2017

Sun Jul 02, 2017 4:42 pm by Cyrus The Adequate

There will be a 28mm Impetus Competition at Derby World Wargames on 7th …

Comments: 47

Impetus at Derby?

Thu Apr 27, 2017 9:29 am by Cyrus The Adequate

Anyone interested ? 7th & 8th October at a new venue - Bruntingthorpe …

Comments: 11

September 2018
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
     12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Calendar Calendar


Some more questions

Go down

Some more questions

Post by alexbm on Tue Sep 12, 2017 8:26 am

Hi

Yesterday I played my first BI game and I had some questions:

- The charge bonus on difficult terrain stays the same as on open ground?

- A unit has been charged by the rear and draws the combat. Should this unit continue to fight in the following turns with the penalties for fighting in the rear?

- A unit fights face-to-face with an enemy unit and also has a friendly unit supporting the combat by the enemy flank. If the enemy unit loses combat is completely disbanded?

Sorry, it's possible that I didn't translate well some terms because I play with the Spanish version.

Thanks!

alexbm
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 3
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2017-09-12

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Some more questions

Post by jeztodd on Wed Sep 13, 2017 10:07 pm

Hi my answers on this -

Re impetus this is lost as difficult terrain (rules 3.3) also on english version quick ref sheet - also applies in broken terrain.

Re combat - never ended up with a draw when in this situation but would just fight again in next turn with all normal applicable factors - must be desperate fighting from the defenders turning around and holding off their attackers ........

Re flank combat - yes if a unit is flanked or rear charged and loses combat is routed automatically (rules 7.2.3)

Sounds like interesting game - was it more cavalry type armies involved?

Hope this helps? Jez
avatar
jeztodd
VBU 3
VBU 3

Posts : 209
Reputation : 6
Join date : 2014-05-19

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Some more questions

Post by alexbm on Thu Sep 14, 2017 7:48 pm

Hi

Thank you very much for your reply jeztodd, you have helped me.

Just one thing. In the first question I was referring to the charge bonus, not the impetus bonus. My question is whether a unit that charge on difficult terrain can use the bonus charge. And if the unit succeeds, add the result as if it were in open ground.

In the game there wasn't much cavalry, we both played with 22.19 Samurais, Takeda vs Uesugi. We're just two newbies neglecting the flanks. Hahaha

Alex

alexbm
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 3
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2017-09-12

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Some more questions

Post by jeztodd on Thu Sep 21, 2017 11:54 am

Hi Alex

Sorry misunderstood before. My personal opinion is that you can use the charge bonus but just apply the normal terrain restrictions.

Amazing coincidence that you are playing Basic Impetus Samurai as I have just started this period and am aiming for the same two army lists Uesugi v Takeda. Makes it easier using a set Osprey Book Battle of Kawanakajima a guide?

So far I have painted half the Uesugi but as I picked up my figures as a second hand job lot I started with an Ikko Ikki army that could include a load of villager types. I have played this army a few times in Basic Impetus and its good fun.

Here is a command base picture:



Happy gaming .... Cheers Jez
avatar
jeztodd
VBU 3
VBU 3

Posts : 209
Reputation : 6
Join date : 2014-05-19

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Some more questions

Post by alexbm on Sun Oct 08, 2017 5:56 pm


Hi Jez,

I feel the delay in the response.
Yes that is a coincidence! I used the osprey book as a guide for painting, although surely the list isn't the most suitable for that battle, because there is too much presence of teppos. But it's the list that we liked to start playing.

Here you can see how my army has been:

http://laarmada.net/taller/galeria-de-alexbm-samurais-tardios/msg475247/#msg475247


I hope you like them

Alex

alexbm
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 3
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2017-09-12

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Some more questions

Post by jeztodd on Mon Oct 09, 2017 12:21 pm

Alex

great photos - I am using 25mm. Yes agree there is a lot of teppo for the Basic Impetus list but as always you can just make adjustments as you prefer between friends.

For our next project we are now looking at Biblical New Kingdom Egyptian V Hittite .... great thing about Basic impetus is that it is fairly cheap to get an army together

Cheers Jez
avatar
jeztodd
VBU 3
VBU 3

Posts : 209
Reputation : 6
Join date : 2014-05-19

View user profile

Back to top Go down

another question

Post by utopia on Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:59 pm

Can a friendly unit of FP interpenetrate another friend of FP if it is just behind and touching it in the back.
see 5.7.1 : two last dots. Is this correct?
Thanks for reply.

utopia
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 1
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2017-11-07

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Some more questions

Post by dadiepiombo on Tue Nov 07, 2017 6:49 pm

no it cannot.

To be in contact doesn't mean you can interpenetrate. Troops that can interpenetrate are stated in the first part of the chapter. To be in contact can just faciltate the process in some cases and avoid that base depth can influences it more than the necessary.
avatar
dadiepiombo
Admin
Admin

Posts : 912
Reputation : 33
Join date : 2014-05-15

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Some more questions

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum