Latest topics
» A few questions on large units, pilums and multiple melees
Some more questions EmptyToday at 2:06 pm by Gaius Cassius

» Interpenetration and Displacement
Some more questions EmptyFri May 17, 2019 6:19 pm by RogerC

» Measurement Question In Basic Impetus 2.0
Some more questions EmptyFri May 17, 2019 5:46 pm by Zombiefy

» Base Depth: 40mm vs 60mm for FP and FL?
Some more questions EmptyThu May 16, 2019 2:31 pm by Gaius Cassius

» Battle of Harzhorn Salute 2019
Some more questions EmptySun May 12, 2019 5:24 pm by Marcus Aurelius MD

» The Illiad = The Wrath of Achilles
Some more questions EmptyThu May 09, 2019 8:04 pm by ejc

» Charges/ counter chares
Some more questions EmptyWed May 08, 2019 2:32 pm by dadiepiombo

» Can a general move with a unit after attaching same turn
Some more questions EmptyWed May 08, 2019 2:23 pm by dadiepiombo

» Byzantine 28mm
Some more questions EmptyMon May 06, 2019 5:38 pm by stecal

Battle of Harzhorn Salute 2019

Thu Mar 21, 2019 1:13 pm by ejc

Our group is putting on the above at the EXcell Centre London being the SAlute …

Comments: 14

The Illiad = The Wrath of Achilles

Thu May 09, 2019 12:41 pm by ejc

We will be putting this game on at one of the Autumn shorws probably Colours or …

Comments: 1

The Battle of Apamea at Hotlead

Sun Mar 17, 2019 12:50 am by Gaius Cassius

Hotlead is Canada's leading Miniature Wargames Convention. It is held in 2019 …

Comments: 2

BI2 tournament - 12 May 2018 - CANCELLED

Tue Jan 23, 2018 10:26 am by RogerC

EDIT I am very sorry, but I’ve had to CANCEL this tournament. I’ve …

Comments: 9

Vapnartak. Sunday 4th February 2018 Knavesmere Stand York Racecourse

Thu Jan 04, 2018 7:54 am by Cyrus The Adequate

Hi Gents

York is the usual first event in the UK Impetus calendar. This year …

Comments: 28

Basic Impetus 2 Comp, January 2018?

Mon Oct 30, 2017 10:03 am by Aurelius

I've brought the confirmed details for the Basic Impetus competition to the …

Comments: 32

May 2019
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Calendar Calendar


Some more questions

Go down

Some more questions Empty Some more questions

Post by alexbm on Tue Sep 12, 2017 8:26 am

Hi

Yesterday I played my first BI game and I had some questions:

- The charge bonus on difficult terrain stays the same as on open ground?

- A unit has been charged by the rear and draws the combat. Should this unit continue to fight in the following turns with the penalties for fighting in the rear?

- A unit fights face-to-face with an enemy unit and also has a friendly unit supporting the combat by the enemy flank. If the enemy unit loses combat is completely disbanded?

Sorry, it's possible that I didn't translate well some terms because I play with the Spanish version.

Thanks!

alexbm
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 3
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2017-09-12

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Some more questions Empty Re: Some more questions

Post by jeztodd on Wed Sep 13, 2017 10:07 pm

Hi my answers on this -

Re impetus this is lost as difficult terrain (rules 3.3) also on english version quick ref sheet - also applies in broken terrain.

Re combat - never ended up with a draw when in this situation but would just fight again in next turn with all normal applicable factors - must be desperate fighting from the defenders turning around and holding off their attackers ........

Re flank combat - yes if a unit is flanked or rear charged and loses combat is routed automatically (rules 7.2.3)

Sounds like interesting game - was it more cavalry type armies involved?

Hope this helps? Jez
jeztodd
jeztodd
VBU 3
VBU 3

Posts : 209
Reputation : 6
Join date : 2014-05-19

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Some more questions Empty Re: Some more questions

Post by alexbm on Thu Sep 14, 2017 7:48 pm

Hi

Thank you very much for your reply jeztodd, you have helped me.

Just one thing. In the first question I was referring to the charge bonus, not the impetus bonus. My question is whether a unit that charge on difficult terrain can use the bonus charge. And if the unit succeeds, add the result as if it were in open ground.

In the game there wasn't much cavalry, we both played with 22.19 Samurais, Takeda vs Uesugi. We're just two newbies neglecting the flanks. Hahaha

Alex

alexbm
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 3
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2017-09-12

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Some more questions Empty Re: Some more questions

Post by jeztodd on Thu Sep 21, 2017 11:54 am

Hi Alex

Sorry misunderstood before. My personal opinion is that you can use the charge bonus but just apply the normal terrain restrictions.

Amazing coincidence that you are playing Basic Impetus Samurai as I have just started this period and am aiming for the same two army lists Uesugi v Takeda. Makes it easier using a set Osprey Book Battle of Kawanakajima a guide?

So far I have painted half the Uesugi but as I picked up my figures as a second hand job lot I started with an Ikko Ikki army that could include a load of villager types. I have played this army a few times in Basic Impetus and its good fun.

Here is a command base picture:

Some more questions Ikko_i10

Happy gaming .... Cheers Jez
jeztodd
jeztodd
VBU 3
VBU 3

Posts : 209
Reputation : 6
Join date : 2014-05-19

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Some more questions Empty Re: Some more questions

Post by alexbm on Sun Oct 08, 2017 5:56 pm


Hi Jez,

I feel the delay in the response.
Yes that is a coincidence! I used the osprey book as a guide for painting, although surely the list isn't the most suitable for that battle, because there is too much presence of teppos. But it's the list that we liked to start playing.

Here you can see how my army has been:

http://laarmada.net/taller/galeria-de-alexbm-samurais-tardios/msg475247/#msg475247


I hope you like them

Alex

alexbm
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 3
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2017-09-12

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Some more questions Empty Re: Some more questions

Post by jeztodd on Mon Oct 09, 2017 12:21 pm

Alex

great photos - I am using 25mm. Yes agree there is a lot of teppo for the Basic Impetus list but as always you can just make adjustments as you prefer between friends.

For our next project we are now looking at Biblical New Kingdom Egyptian V Hittite .... great thing about Basic impetus is that it is fairly cheap to get an army together

Cheers Jez
jeztodd
jeztodd
VBU 3
VBU 3

Posts : 209
Reputation : 6
Join date : 2014-05-19

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Some more questions Empty another question

Post by utopia on Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:59 pm

Can a friendly unit of FP interpenetrate another friend of FP if it is just behind and touching it in the back.
see 5.7.1 : two last dots. Is this correct?
Thanks for reply.

utopia
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 1
Reputation : 0
Join date : 2017-11-07

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Some more questions Empty Re: Some more questions

Post by dadiepiombo on Tue Nov 07, 2017 6:49 pm

no it cannot.

To be in contact doesn't mean you can interpenetrate. Troops that can interpenetrate are stated in the first part of the chapter. To be in contact can just faciltate the process in some cases and avoid that base depth can influences it more than the necessary.
dadiepiombo
dadiepiombo
Admin
Admin

Posts : 999
Reputation : 40
Join date : 2014-05-15

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Some more questions Empty Re: Some more questions

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum