Latest topics
» A few questions on large units, pilums and multiple melees
Main unit and Support unit in second combat EmptyToday at 2:06 pm by Gaius Cassius

» Interpenetration and Displacement
Main unit and Support unit in second combat EmptyFri May 17, 2019 6:19 pm by RogerC

» Measurement Question In Basic Impetus 2.0
Main unit and Support unit in second combat EmptyFri May 17, 2019 5:46 pm by Zombiefy

» Base Depth: 40mm vs 60mm for FP and FL?
Main unit and Support unit in second combat EmptyThu May 16, 2019 2:31 pm by Gaius Cassius

» Battle of Harzhorn Salute 2019
Main unit and Support unit in second combat EmptySun May 12, 2019 5:24 pm by Marcus Aurelius MD

» The Illiad = The Wrath of Achilles
Main unit and Support unit in second combat EmptyThu May 09, 2019 8:04 pm by ejc

» Charges/ counter chares
Main unit and Support unit in second combat EmptyWed May 08, 2019 2:32 pm by dadiepiombo

» Can a general move with a unit after attaching same turn
Main unit and Support unit in second combat EmptyWed May 08, 2019 2:23 pm by dadiepiombo

» Byzantine 28mm
Main unit and Support unit in second combat EmptyMon May 06, 2019 5:38 pm by stecal

Battle of Harzhorn Salute 2019

Thu Mar 21, 2019 1:13 pm by ejc

Our group is putting on the above at the EXcell Centre London being the SAlute …

Comments: 14

The Illiad = The Wrath of Achilles

Thu May 09, 2019 12:41 pm by ejc

We will be putting this game on at one of the Autumn shorws probably Colours or …

Comments: 1

The Battle of Apamea at Hotlead

Sun Mar 17, 2019 12:50 am by Gaius Cassius

Hotlead is Canada's leading Miniature Wargames Convention. It is held in 2019 …

Comments: 2

BI2 tournament - 12 May 2018 - CANCELLED

Tue Jan 23, 2018 10:26 am by RogerC

EDIT I am very sorry, but I’ve had to CANCEL this tournament. I’ve …

Comments: 9

Vapnartak. Sunday 4th February 2018 Knavesmere Stand York Racecourse

Thu Jan 04, 2018 7:54 am by Cyrus The Adequate

Hi Gents

York is the usual first event in the UK Impetus calendar. This year …

Comments: 28

Basic Impetus 2 Comp, January 2018?

Mon Oct 30, 2017 10:03 am by Aurelius

I've brought the confirmed details for the Basic Impetus competition to the …

Comments: 32

May 2019
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Calendar Calendar


Main unit and Support unit in second combat

Go down

Main unit and Support unit in second combat Empty Main unit and Support unit in second combat

Post by jeztodd on Tue Mar 21, 2017 12:46 am

Hi All

Just wanted to check something ............ page 14 has the multiple melees diagram and am looking at the third diagram down. Clear match up of two main unit combats. The player decides to fight the P2 match up first and my question is if in the diagram the red unit P2 retreats is the white P2 unit able to act as a supporting unit in the next combat melee red P1 versus white P1.

I think in main impetus it is played as a fresh combat BUT in Basic Impetus 7.6.3 it is the phrase "However if you are fighting as the Main unit you cannot also be Support Unit or Main Unit in another melee"

Know always got confused with this point in Impetus .................

Cheers Jez
jeztodd
jeztodd
VBU 3
VBU 3

Posts : 209
Reputation : 6
Join date : 2014-05-19

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Main unit and Support unit in second combat Empty Re: Main unit and Support unit in second combat

Post by RogerC on Tue Mar 21, 2017 12:11 pm

Unless Lorenzo says otherwise, I'd read 'you are fighting' as 'you are currently in contact' so a unit in contact as a main unit can't be counted as support in another melee. On the other hand, if the unit is no longer in contact as main unit, because that melee has already been resolved, then I think the unit can act as support in another melee. I'm distinguishing between 'are fighting' and 'have fought'.

Thus in the third diagram on page 14, if the P2 units fight their melee, and red P2 retreats, then white P2 is no longer fighting as a main unit, and can be a support in the P1 melee.

I know that is the same as 'full' Impetus, but the wording of BI2 7.6.3 seems to be saying the same thing as 'full' 7.7.3.

RogerC

RogerC
VBU 3
VBU 3

Posts : 167
Reputation : 3
Join date : 2014-05-20

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Main unit and Support unit in second combat Empty Re: Main unit and Support unit in second combat

Post by dadiepiombo on Mon Mar 27, 2017 9:24 am

as Rogers says. All situations are temporary and can change during the process
dadiepiombo
dadiepiombo
Admin
Admin

Posts : 999
Reputation : 40
Join date : 2014-05-15

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Main unit and Support unit in second combat Empty Re: Main unit and Support unit in second combat

Post by frazer on Tue Jun 06, 2017 12:44 pm

hi

just an add on to that scenario

if the P1 fight first and its a draw, then the P2 fight and as above Red P2 retreat, does this restart the P1 fight with White P2 as above being a support, even if they say roll a zero for any pursuit?

cheers

frazer
VBU 2
VBU 2

Posts : 76
Reputation : 3
Join date : 2014-05-19

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Main unit and Support unit in second combat Empty Re: Main unit and Support unit in second combat

Post by RogerC on Wed Jun 07, 2017 5:44 pm

Good question, frazer. I don't think that the P1 melee restarts when red P2 retreats. Rule 7.6.7 says that a melee starts again if a new unit 'moves' to contact. Since white P2 is already in contact with red P1, it can't move when red P2 retreats, irrespective of its pursuit score. So the condition for restarting the melee doesn't seem to be met.

It might seem odd that if white P2 was just clear of red P1, any successful pursuit of red P2 would restart the P1 melee. However, if there was any clearance, the two melees would be distinct anyway.

RogerC

RogerC
VBU 3
VBU 3

Posts : 167
Reputation : 3
Join date : 2014-05-20

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Main unit and Support unit in second combat Empty Re: Main unit and Support unit in second combat

Post by dadiepiombo on Tue Jun 20, 2017 11:02 am

if there is not movement then nothing triggers a new melee phase.
dadiepiombo
dadiepiombo
Admin
Admin

Posts : 999
Reputation : 40
Join date : 2014-05-15

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Main unit and Support unit in second combat Empty Re: Main unit and Support unit in second combat

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum